Melbourne Festival’s 2011 lineup features an impressive array of musicians from Japan, USA, Iraq, Syria, Democratic Republic of the Congo, China and New Zealand.

The festival’s music program will be opened by Japanese post-rock legends MONO partnered with a 23-piece orchestra to reprise their ‘Holy Ground’ performance exclusively at the Forum for Melbourne Festival. The closing night will feature a spoken word show from Jello Biafra, the original (and only credible) lead singer of seminal punk legends The Dead Kennedys, performing in Australia for the first time in eight years.

During the festival both the Forum and the Toff in Town will also host performances. The festival will be closed with a huge performance in the Sidney Myer Music Bowl, featuring The Black Arm Band and a host of the world’s finest soul singers. Songs of Billie Holiday, Bob Dylan, Woody Guthrie, Leonard Cohen and more performed by the soul star Mavis Staples, Joss Stone, Rickie Lee Jones, Paul Dempsey, Sudanese hip-hop star and former child soldier Emmanuel Jal and the legendary Black Arm Band.


The Forum:
Friday 7th October – MONO (Japan), Wintercoats (Australia)
Saturday 8 October – Black Dice (USA), Lucky Dragons (USA)
Friday 14 October – Okkervil River (USA), Roller One (Australia)
Saturday 15 October – Aesop Rock, Kimya Dawson ft Rob Sonic and DJ Big Wiz (USA), The Narcicyst (Iraq), Omar Offendum (Syria)
Friday 21 October – Konono No.1 (Democratic Republic of the Congo), Bachelorette (New Zealand)
Saturday 22 October – Jello Biafra (USA)

The Toff in Town:
Sunday 9 October – Sulumi (China), Qua (Australia)
Wednesday 12 October – Lucky Dragons (USA), Geoffrey O’Connor (Australia)
Sunday 16 October – Will Sheff (USA), Jimmy Stewart (Australia), Mike Noga (Australia)
Wednesday 19 October – Bachelorette (New Zealand), Rat Vs Possum (Australia)

Meeniyan Town Hall:
Saturday 15 October – Okkervil River (USA)

The Sidney Myer Music Bowl:
Saturday 22 October – Songs From The Hard Road Concert