The one and only former Led Zeppelin frontman Robert Plant is to make his first Australian concert appearance in 16 years when he headlines next year’s Bluesfest at Byron Bay.

The singer, who has been a solo performer since the break-up of Led Zeppelin in 1980, will appear with his new band, the Sensational Shape Shifters. The singer last toured Australia in 1996 with his former Zeppelin bandmate Jimmy Page.

Bluesfest promoter Pete Noble said he was honoured to have such a prestigious name on the five-day Bluesfest bill over the Easter holiday.

“Bringing Robert Plant to Bluesfest is a dream come true,” said Noble, “not just for me, but for the thousands of fans who have been standing by patiently all these years.”

Also announced on the bill will be a handful of rock veterans, including Yes singer Jon Anderson, Supertramp frontman Roger Hodgson, English ska/pop favourites Madness and Australian band, Status Quo.

They join other big global names on the bluesfest roster, including Santana, Ben Harper, Iggy and the Stooges, reggae singer Jimmy Cliff, Rodriguez, Michael Kiwanuka and the American rock band Wilco.

Next year’s Bluesfest, the 24th, at Tyagarah Tea Farm in Byron Bay, will be held from Thursday, March 28, until Monday, April 1.

Bluesfest 2013 First Lineup Announcement:

Ben Harper
Iggy & The Stooges
Steve Miller Band
Chris Isaak
Bonnie Raitt
Dropkick Murphy’s
Glen Hansard with The Frames
Tedeschi Trucks Band
Newton Faulkner
William Elliott Whitmore
Frank Turner and The Sleeping Souls
Grace Potter
Playing For Change
Ben Caplan

Second Announcement:

Jimmy Cliff
Joan Armatrading
Robert Cray
Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue
The Blind Boys Of Alabama
Mavis Staples
Allen Toussaint
Wanda Jackson
Fred Wesley & The New JB’s
Michael Kiwanuka
Bettye Lavette
Luka Bloom
Ruthie Foster
Tony Joe White
Sweet Honey In The Rock
The Duke Robillard Band
Shawn Colvin
Seth Lakeman
Bettye Lavette

Third announcement:

Robert Plant (With Band, The Sensational Space Shifters – ‘Playing Led Zeppelin tracks’ )
Status Quo
Roger Hodgson
Jon Anderson